The crows of Sendai – Making of

At first I made some sketches to generate ideas. After some drawings I knew exactly how the final image should look like. I started my research looking for material I could use for my illustration. Unfortunately I didn’t find the pictures I was looking for. I went over to plan B and had to arrange a collage of the scene I had in my mind.

Sketches:

First step: Collecting images (© Rafael Koller. All rights reserved)

First step: Collecting images (© Rafael Koller. All rights reserved)

Collages:

Second step: The scene was made on the basis of this photo. I made a lot of changes and the final collage was painted over in Photoshop.  (© Rafael Koller. All rights reserved)

Second step: The scene was made on the basis of this photo. I made a lot of changes and the final collage was painted over in Photoshop. (© Rafael Koller. All rights reserved)

Third step: I did the same with the crow itself. I took a photo, changed some details and painted it over. (© Rafael Koller. All rights reserved)

Third step: I did the same with the crow itself. I took a photo, changed some details and painted it over. (© Rafael Koller. All rights reserved)

The final step was the composing of the whole illustration. I tried many different versions until being satisfied with the result.

Leave a Reply

