Printing t-shirts and merchandising

The Lucerne-based band Kapnorth asked me to make a t-shirt illustration. I liked their idea and made some proposals instantly. It was clear form the beginning that it would be a monochrome image because of their low printing budget. Finally they chose the circle like illustration with the deer. It is part of the concept, that the typeface is a bit hidden inside the illustration. It makes the design a bit more attractive to the people who are not  big fans of simple band-merchandising products. It is kind of a compromise… Nevertheless, it came out pretty well and I am happy with the result.

T-shirt illustration: Kapnorth, 2013(© Rafael Koller. All rights reserved

At first I wasn’t thinking of printing the t-shirts by myself. But at some point I thought that it would be the best to do it on my own. I would have much more control on the colour and it would be much cheaper for the band. Therefore I asked textile designer Lucas Guidetti Perez if he wants to help me printing the t-shirts. Fortunately he was very interested in working with me. So we started with the production of two printing frames:

We had to hurry a bit, because the band wanted to sell the shirt at their very near album release show. It took us a while to print 60 t-shirts by hand, but we made it just in time. It was a great experience to work together with Lucas and I hope, that we will work together on future textile projects. I hope you like the design too:

How it looks on a body

How it looks on a body

Finally I want to show you two pictures from the release event, where I sold my postcards, posters, some silkscreen stuff, paintings and of course the album and the shirts of the band. It was an awesome evening! It’s always great to see the reaction of the people, when they get in touch with my artworks. The response was overwhelmingly positive and that is the real payoff for my efforts, not the money I earned…

Feel free to contact me if you want some more information about my work or visit my homepage: www.rafaelkoller.ch 

or go to the Lucerne based band: kapnorth
Lucas Guidetti Perez: Website

3 thoughts on “Printing t-shirts and merchandising

Leave a Reply

